to visit in Dunkeld
only way to truly appreciate Dunkeld and Birnam is on foot;
it is so small and compact and extremely easily explored with
something of interest around every corner. The Cross in Dunkeld
is a good starting point. The Atholl Memorial fountain at The
Cross was erected in 1866 in memory of the 6th Duke of Atholl.
From here a walk down picturesque Cathedral Street leads you
to Dunkeld Cathedral standing idyllically amidst wide lawns
that sweep down to the River Tay. In one of those houses in
Cathedral Street, number nine, a nineteenth century premier
of Canada, Alexander Mackenzie, spent his early years.
The other end of the Cathedral Street opens out onto the High
Street with the The Cross, dedicated to the memory of the 6th
Duke of Atholl. There are many buildings of note in this area,
including the Ell Shop ( so-called from the measuring gauge
dated 1706 attached to the outside of the wall ), the Duchess
Anne, a former girls school erected by the wife of the
6th Duke in 1851, and the now closed museum of the Scottish
Horse Regiment which originally recruited amongst Scotsmen living
in South Africa at the time of the Boer War. Having fought in
that and in both World Wars, the regiment was amalgamated with
the Fife and Forfar Yeomanry in 1956. A walk through the streets
of Dunkeld will prove interesting, with its variety of shops,
galleries and Tourist Information Centre.
one of the most attractive towns in Scotland, Dunkeld gets visitors
from all over the world. But it remains, as it always has been,
a thriving, lived-in town, loved as much by its inhabitants
as it is by those who visit it.