Old Linlithgow Old Linlithgow. Old Linlithgow combines a charming collection of photographs with excellent research and local knowledge. The Linlithgow Station Ambulance Corps appears on the front cover, while there are further photographs of Linlithgow station within the book. High Street is strongly featured with several crowd scenes such as the Cross at the Riding of the Marches in 1900. It's also possible to see buildings which have long gone such as the Golden Cross Cafe (patronised by Burns), the Cunzie Neuk, the White House and the old Burgh School. Businesses featured include the local gasworks company, James Allan bakers and the Nobel explosives company. The town is pictured on the day George V visited in 1914 with space also given to Katie Wearie's tree, a well-kent Linlithgow legend. Blackness and Winchburgh villages complete the picture.
Return To Tour West Lothian